Mobile menu icon
Mobile menu icon Search iconSearch
Search type

MRC Discovery Award

The University of Manchester was awarded a MRC Discovery Award for 'capacity building in single cell inflammation discovery: developing the next generation of scientists'.

The MCCIR and the Infection, Immunity, Inflammation and Repair domain recently launched a call for pump-priming and/or to develop early career researchers in single cell analysis of clinically relevant inflammation. Those awarded all make use of the University's MRC funded state-of-the-art Single Cell Facility.

Successful applications

Antifungal potency of the airway epithelium in health and disease: a single cell approach

Principal Investigator: Dr Elaine Bignell
Co-investigator: Dr Margherita Bertuzzi - Manchester Fungal Infection Group
Award value: £81,276

Applying single cell technology to Steroid Resistant Asthma: identifying the role of circadian mechanisms in TH17 cells

Principal Investigator: Dr Hannah Durrington
Co-investigators: Dr John Blaikley, Prof David, Ray, Dr Steve Fowler
Award value: £26,481

Does single cell biological noise conceal circadian timing information

Principal Investigator: Dr J Blaikley
Co-investigators: Dr H Durrington, Prof D Ray, Prof A Hazel
Award value: £86,966

Monocyte heterogeneity in health and inflammatory disease

Principal Investigator: Dr Sebastien Viatte
Co-investigators: Ben Mulhearn, Paul Martin, Syed Murtuza Baker
Award value: £73,326

High-resolution definition of pulmonary immune cells during human asthma

Principal Investigator: Prof Andrew McDonald
Co-investigators: Dr Peter Cook, Prof Angela Simpson, Dr Robert Niven
Award value: £40,000

The nanoscale organisation of naïve and regulatory T cell surfaces in juvenile idiopathic arthritis patients

Principal Investigators: Prof Stephen Eyre, Prof Daniel M Davis
Co-investigators: Pawel Paszek, Paul Martin, Annie Yarwood
Award value: £100,000

Panel members

Members of the panel included:

  • Professor Tracy Hussell
  • Professor Mike White
  • Professor Nigel Hooper
  • Professor Jane Worthington
  • Professor Angela Simpson
  • Professor Andrew Sharrocks
  • Professor Chris Thompson
  • Dr Gareth Howell